People in Fairfax have a strong work ethic, and many will work above and beyond the traditional 40-hour workweek to get the job done and support their families. It is important that these workers understand when they are owed overtime wages, so they can protect their rights if necessary.
Federal overtime laws
It may surprise you to learn that Virginia does not have state laws governing overtime pay. Instead, the state follows federal overtime laws. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) does not limit how many hours an employer can require a worker to work in one day or week. However, for all hours in a workweek in excess of 40 hours, employers have to pay workers an overtime rate of time-and-a-half of their regular pay rate. Keep in mind that some types of employees are exempt from overtime requirements.
What about weekends and holidays?
Employers are not required under the FLSA to pay overtime if a worker works more than eight hours a day, if a worker works on a holiday or if a worker works on a weekend. Overtime depends on the workweek. A workweek consists of seven consecutive days in a row equaling 168 total hours. Workweeks can begin any day of the week and different workers may have different workweeks.
Seek assistance if you were wrongfully denied overtime pay
If you believe you were wrongfully denied overtime pay, this may be a violation of federal wage and hour laws. People who find themselves in such situations may want to consult with a Virginia employment law attorney, as this post does not contain legal advice.